Tree canopy

Bearcats in Politics & Government – PDX

After putting on a successful inaugural event in Washington, D.C. this summer, Willamette's new Bearcats in Politics affinity group is expanding to Portland! Join Willamette President Stephen Thorsett, current students and fellow alumni working in government and public service for a specialized networking event at the World Trade Center building.

Special guest speakers will include Oregon State Treasurer Tobias Read '97, PGE VP of Public Policy Dave Robertson '89 and Engaging Local Government Leaders (ELGL) Executive Director Kirsten Wyatt '99. Come to hear from these local leaders and meet other Willamette graduates in similar career fields.

Many of our alumni have gone on to live our motto, "Not unto ourselves alone are we born," through their involvement in local, state and national politics. Our Bearcats in Politics group strives to bring those alumni together while serving as a resource for current students and the greater Willamette community.

A special thanks goes to our event hosts, Portland General Electric, Dave Robertson '89 and PGE Manager of Local Government Affairs Randy Ealy '91.

Event Information

   DATE & TIME:    Thursday, September 20, 2018 | 5:30–7:30 PM

World Trade Center - Portland
Plaza Conference Room (1st Floor)
121 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97204

Tobias Read '97, Oregon State Treasurer
Dave Robertson '89, Vice President of Public Policy, PGE
Kirsten Wyatt '99, Executive Director, ELGL

5:30–6:15 | Mix and Mingle
6:15–6:20 | Introduction and Affinity Group Mission
6:20–6:40 | Guest Speaker Remarks
6:40–7:30 | Additional Networking Time

   DETAILS:   With $10 registration, guests receive one drink ticket and selection of hors d'oeuvres.
A full bar will be open for additional drink purchases.
Space is limited. Register below by Sept. 15.

   QUESTIONS?   Contact the Office of Alumni Engagement at or 503-375-5304


  1. Step 1 Selection
Thursday September 20
5:30 PM - 7:30 PM
Thursday, September 20
Sold Out
This event has reached maximum capacity.
Who's Coming
Results: (1 - 50) of 74
Gregory R. Alderson'11
Kendrick H. Arakaki'14
Thomas A. Bartlett'51
Tim J. Bernasek'93 JD'98 MBA'98
Bryan R. Boehringer'93
Elizabeth F. Brown'18
Becca Brownlee'16
Alyssa M. Chatterjee'12
Andrea M. Chiapella'09
Kevin T. Christiansen'95 JD'99
Samuel Coren'19
Channelle Crittenden'19
Katherine N. Crocker'03 MBA'04
Nina A. Dabit'18
Randall M. Ealy'91
Anna H. Freitas'15
Darrell W. Fuller'88
Natalie Giersch'16 MBA'18
Danielle Gonzalez
Michael L. Hand
Joshua J. Harwood'97
Yori Hook'19
Caleb HuegelJD'19
Abby K. Kahl'05
Ellen M. Klaastad'87
Samantha KlausenJD'20
Linda G. Lewis'79
Matthew D. LoweJD'00
Michael W. Lowery'03
Akerah Mackey'19
Violeta Martin'12
Bryan W. Martz'15 MBA'19
Ilana S. Mass'19
Stacy A. Michaelson'08
John N. Morgan'74
Mary Lynn Morgan'75
Oliver C. Muggli'17
Ariel R. Nelson'07
Mia Noren'19
Sean B. O'Hollaren'83
Andrés O. Oswill'15
Milena OtasevicMBA'17
Douglas R. PahlJD'91
Shelby Radcliffe
Tobias J. Read'97
Tyler L. Reich'06
Luz M. Reyna'17
Nicholas RhotenJD'19
Christina M. Robertson'97
William D. Robertson'89
Results: (1 - 50) of 74